Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning & Zoning Commission consists of seven (7) Commissioners, appointed for four-year terms, by the Mayor and approved by City Council.  The Planning & Zoning Commission meets monthly to consider land use applications, such as Rezonings, Special Use Permits, Planned Development Districts, and Preliminary Plats, and new and/or amended Ordinances; the Commission provides written recommendations to City Council for final consideration.  All members of the Commission serve without compensation.

All members of the Commission shall be residents of the City, and the membership of the Commission shall consist of at least one representative from each ward within the City. Vacancies in Commission are filled for the unexpired term by appointment and approval as provided in Section 400.010. The Mayor, with the consent of the majority of the City Council, may remove any member of the Commission for cause stated in writing and after a public hearing.

The City of Republic is actively accepting applications from residents interested in service on the Planning and Zoning Commission.  Applicants will be considered as vacancies arise.  Applications from certain wards may be prioritized depending on the makeup of the Commission at a given time.

To apply, fill out the application located on the Boards & Commissions Application tab, or click the link in the listing below.  Paper applications can also be picked up at the BUILDS Department located at 4221 S Wilson's Creek Blvd.  Applications must be submitted by Friday, December 15 at 4:30 p.m. either online or in person at Republic City Hall.


Current Members

  • Michael Mann (Ward 1)
  • Ransom Ellis (Ward 2)
  • Cynthia Hyder (Ward 3)
  • Brian Doubrava (Ward 3)
  • John Alexander (Ward 3) 
  • Jeff Hayes (Ward 4)
  • Garry Wilson (Council Liaison - 2)